Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Recommend online guitar instruction  (Read 3208 times)

Offline Erik Magrini

• http://tarekith.com
Recommend online guitar instruction
« on: October 25, 2011, 10:50:16 PM »
So, here's the deal.  I'm a self-taught guitar player, been doing it for over 20 years, though admittedly very sporadically the last 10 or so.  I only ever took one semester of lessons as an easy college credit, and the instructor, while nice, was always trying to get me to learn heavy metal or classic rock songs as a way to learn techniques.  It really just put me off lessons after that.

Recently I got a new guitar (DF824) so I've been playing a lot more regularly and enjoying it.  But like a lot of guitarists, I find myself reverting to the same licks and techniques, and I'd really like to put some more time into improving my playing in general.  A lot of people have said check YouTube, but there's SOOO much stuff there (and most of it crappy or too rock oriented) than I feel like it's been impossible to find what I'm really looking for.

I know music theory, I know basic scales and chords, I can read tab and most sheet music (though not sight read) already.

I really want to learn new techniques, even if they are fancy shredder tricks like pinch harmonics or hammer on tapping.  I'm more a solo melody player than a rhythm guitarist, but not against learning more about that either.  I'd LOVE to be able to play faster than I can now, really learn how to work my way across the neck more fluidly and not feel like I'm always moving to different "positions" on the fretboard.

What I don't want is having to learn other people's songs as a way to learn these things however.  I don't know, maybe that's just totally unrealistic, I don't know.

Anyone have any suggestions for online videos or courses that they personally can vouch for?  Any recommendations greatly appreciated!

Offline mountaindewaddict