Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Compensated Nuts  (Read 4602 times)

Offline raven17

Compensated Nuts
« on: December 03, 2005, 02:27:20 PM »
I've been playing an American Deluxe Fender Fat Strat for quite some time, and was pleased with the sound of it.  But as anyone knows, the price you pay for that "classic" Fender sound is a horrible battle with intonation problems.  It was driving me absolutely mad.  I spent more than an hour each week adjusting the set-up.  But then I added an ear-vana compensated nut and was totally blown away by how perfect the intonation was.  Everything just sounded incredible.

About 6 months ago, I picked up a Nitefly mojo in a store.  It was the most beautiful creature I've ever seen.  And it sounded 10 times as good as it looked as far as tone is concerned.  I was totally in love.  Until I started playing more mellow and intricate riffs and especially barred and open chords.  It has nothing to do with Parker, in fact the intonation of even this display guitar was still better than most other guitars I've seen and played that didn't have compensated nuts.  But after a year of having my ears in bliss and a guitar with perfect intonation (while lagging far behind Parker in almost all other aspects), it was just something my ears couldn't ignore.

I would part with $1800 in a heartbeat for a Nitefly Mojo with the flamed maple top.  I'd sell both of my American Fenders for it.  If only it had a compesated nut.

I don't want to buy a sonically-perfect instrument and then put a ear-vana nut on it that was designed for a Fender (which are imperfect, as charming as some of their quirks might be) or a Gibson.  Besides, installing the ear-vana nut on a guitar that it was designed for even resulted in a tiny loss in sustain.  I would never want to do that to a Parker.