Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Considering a used P-38... what should I know?  (Read 19758 times)

Offline ironfistx

Considering a used P-38... what should I know?
« on: March 17, 2012, 08:30:31 PM »
I'm a complete noob to Parker guitars.  I only know that I've loved the few that I've played over the years at guitar stores.

I found a local P-38 that plays very well but seems to have some electrical issues (corrosion?) and it seems a bit more complicated than the Ibanez electrics I'm used to.

I don't want to buy it simply because it plays well without knowing what I'm getting into, so what kind of stuff should I keep in mind when looking at it and negotiating on a price?

Thanks!

Offline ironfistx

« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2012, 08:53:11 PM »
Let me clarify (sorry, I didn't see a way to edit my previous post).

Some of the electronics, like the pickup selector switch, looked a bit rusty.  Sometimes when I would change pickups the sound would cut out for a bit and I'd have to sweep the switch back and forth a few times before it came back in.

The saddles on the bridge also looked rusty.  Maybe "rusty" isn't the right word, but they didn't look new and shiny.

I did not know what all the knobs and switches did, but I just downloaded a manual (it's a 3 page .pdf file, I guess it's the manual?).  Apparently the small switch is a 3-way Piezo selector.  Some of the position of that switch reduced the volume by nearly 50%.  Is that normal?

What is the difference between "magnetic pickups" and "piezo pickups"?  This manual says that's what the switch controls.

All three pickups on it said "Parker" on them but I'm not sure what kind of pickups they are or if they're the stock pickups or what.

The action was great.  The feel was great.  I play mostly metal and I know Parkers aren't necessarily shredder's guitars but with fast and low action, they are very comfortable in my hands.