Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: so tell me about your way to set the bridge up  (Read 4368 times)

Offline Harry Blackhole

so tell me about your way to set the bridge up
« on: August 16, 2012, 11:53:53 AM »
Hi,

I'm quite new to Parkers, and I recently bought '99 Fly Classic. Awesooooome!
Still unsure about the proper way to set up the wheel and tune. I know it's kinda dumb, but can you tell me how I should do it from the beginning? Imagine I put a new set of strings and stretch them, then...?
What i do is I turn the wheel until I can't move the bridge up in the HOME position, then tune the guitar. I want the bridge to be bend down only, so I turn the wheel until it barely touches the home switch, then tighten the spring about one turn. It's what I read in the manual. Now, this way the tuning seems to be not stable enough for me - I had PRS with locking tuners once, which seemed more stable in this matter, but not really sure, I might be going crazy:) What are your experiences in this topic?
Also - when I play a gig, and want to tune the guitar when in such mode (bend down) - i do nothing more than just turn the keys?
Sorry, this Parker bridge is still a bit of mystery for me. Thanks for your answers in advance:)

Re: so tell me about your way to set the bridge up

Offline danjazzny

« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2012, 12:36:11 PM »
Welcome to the Parker Forum Harry! Here's a good place to start: http://www.parkerguitars.com/images/stories/manuals/Fly_trem_guide.pdf   :)
'99 Simonized Artist 4lbs13oz; '97 TransRed Artist 4lbs9oz; '00 TransCherry Classic w/SD's 5lbs3oz; Line 6 Vetta II

Offline Paul Marossy

• Excuse me while I kiss The Fly
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2012, 12:48:19 PM »