Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: My new Parker  (Read 2603 times)

Offline DavidRavenMoon

• SGD Lutherie
My new Parker
« on: June 14, 2014, 02:14:34 PM »
Hi everyone, I'm new here. :)

I always wanted a Parker Fly, and I also really liked the PM60. Last week the guitarist in my band (I'm also a bassist) saw a nice teal P-38 at Guitar Center for under $300, and bought it. Then he saw a Fender Roland ready Strat he wanted more, so I bought the Parker from him! It's not a Fly, but it's still a very cool guitar. AND it's mine. It's one of the Korean made P-38s.

It has a nasty chip on the upper edge of the body, but otherwise looks new. I notice that bumping the vibrato arm while using the piezos sounds like a drum. I'm assuming that using some foam to darn the springs should fix that. I haven't tried it yet. But it's a great guitar and I love the neck!

My next step is to replace the pickups. I don't use single coils because I hate hum. The humbucker is a bit dull and lifeless. Cranking the highs on the amp a bit makes the single coils too bright! Fortunately I'm a pickup maker so I'm going to make a new set (two single coil size dual blade pickups and a dual rail humbucker). Then at some point I'll replace the tuners with locking tuners, and I'm thinking about adding the Ghost Hexpander system and a 13-pin jack.

As an aside, this was one of guitars that Ken designed, which I like. Back in the mid 90s I got to meet Ken at a guitar building symposium. He was a real nice guy and we talked for over an hour. He gave me lots of encouragement and tips.

Re: My new Parker

Offline danjazzny

« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2014, 02:51:39 PM »
Welcome to the Parker Forum DavidRavenMoon! Don't know much about P-38's but I like the color of yours. Really cool that you got to meet Ken Parker. Congrats!   8)
'99 Simonized Artist 4lbs13oz; '97 TransRed Artist 4lbs9oz; '00 TransCherry Classic w/SD's 5lbs3oz; Line 6 Vetta II