Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Changing pickups  (Read 7067 times)

Offline Felstead

Changing pickups
« on: January 27, 2015, 06:58:58 AM »
Hi I'm new to the Parker world, I've just got a 2000 model with the 2ND gen dimarzio pickups, great guitar but I think the only thing holding it back are the pickups. I was wondering if anyone could help me with...

1. How do you mount say a Seymour Duncan pickup with only one row of screws in the pickup?

2. Do I have to buy longer pole piece screws?

3. Is there some kind of mounting kit/aid that is available?

Thank you in advance for any advice given here and I'm from the UK and there's not a lot of anything available here to aid with this.

Re: Changing pickups

Offline guitarmanuk

« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2015, 07:46:06 AM »
As you have found, they are very specific for the Fly in the way they are mounted.  Keep an eye out on FleaBay as you do see them come up from time to time. 

An alternative is to have them re-wound.  Not sure who in the UK, maybe Kent Armstrong or Bare KNuckle might re-wind them, just a guess, not actual knowledge.

You could also contact CA Guitarworks http://www.caguitarworks.co.uk/ as they are an offical Parker repair centre and they may be able to offer some advice.
David

1997 Parker Fly Classic transparent Teal Green
1997 Parker Fly Concert Butterscotch

Offline Paul Marossy

• Excuse me while I kiss The Fly
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2015, 08:57:38 AM »
Unfortunately Seymour Duncan and DiMarzio pickups do not have the same pole piece spacing, therefore you can't just stick Seymour Duncans in a Fly that was designed around DiMarzios. And conversely you can't take the SDs out of a Fly Mojo and put DiMarzios in it.