Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Piezo not working  (Read 3629 times)

Offline zarc95

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Piezo not working
« on: October 01, 2016, 12:19:14 PM »
Hi everyone!

This is my first post on the forum  :)

I just got my hands on a beautiful 2009 Fly Deluxe with Piezo.
I am amazed by how easy this guitar is to play!
Unfortunately, while the magnetic pups are working fine, I do not get any sound from the piezo.
Is there a way to narrow down where the issue may come from?

Many thanks in advance for all the advices you will be able to provide me with :)

« Last Edit: October 01, 2016, 12:32:34 PM by zarc95 »

Re: Piezo not working

Offline TinMachine

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2016, 12:38:59 PM »
Stereo cord?

Re: Piezo not working

Offline zarc95

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2016, 01:07:37 PM »
I use my standard mono guitar cable
Is that why I don't get any piezo sound  :-\

Re: Piezo not working

Offline sybersitizen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2659
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2016, 01:21:33 PM »
I use my standard mono guitar cable
Is that why I don't get any piezo sound  :-\

No, a mono cable should work.

Do you have the Fly Handbook (user manual)?

http://www.parkerguitars.com/support/manuals/ParkerFlyHandbook_2004.pdf
'01 Fly Deluxe|'69 SG Standard|'69 EB-3|Pignose Strat|Savannah SGO-16CE|Glen Burton GE47|Dean Vendetta 7-String|Loog 3-String|Fishman Aura Spectrum|Roland Amplifiers

Re: Piezo not working

Offline zarc95

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2016, 01:30:29 PM »
Yes, many thanks.
I just had a look at it after my previous post and saw that a mono cable should work.

I go the mag pups sound on both "mag" and "mag+piezo" positions of the 3 way switch, but nothing on the piezo position.
No sound, not hum...

Re: Piezo not working

Offline sybersitizen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2659
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2016, 02:54:04 PM »
It's possible that some part of the piezo system (pickups, preamp, wiring, switch) is wonky. Also possible that a previous owner did some mods that bypass the piezos.

I suggest you open the back and take some good photos of everything in there to share here. Someone with good knowledge of recent models (not me) will probably have some specific suggestions for you.
'01 Fly Deluxe|'69 SG Standard|'69 EB-3|Pignose Strat|Savannah SGO-16CE|Glen Burton GE47|Dean Vendetta 7-String|Loog 3-String|Fishman Aura Spectrum|Roland Amplifiers

Re: Piezo not working

Offline ea7hj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2016, 04:36:11 PM »
Simple thing that occurs to me: you checked the battery ?.
I had tje guitar with the cable plugged several days I did the same.

Re: Piezo not working

Offline zarc95

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #7 on: October 02, 2016, 03:22:48 AM »
Here are some pictures.
Are there some tests I could do to identify the faulty part?
I have a multimeter...

@ea7hj : it does not come from the battery which is new. And without the battery the mag pups do not work






Re: Piezo not working

Offline zarc95

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2016, 07:35:37 AM »
There is some change...

I used my soldering iron to better fix the 9V battery wire on the preamp.
I also took the opportunity to touch the connection of the piezo on the preamp.
I now have piezo sound but :
- there is a significant amount of background noise
- the low E string seems not to work properly.

Apart from that the trim pot on the circuit board works properly and allows me to adjust the piezo gain.
The piezo volume know on the guitar also works fine.

Any idea what I should do to eliminate the background noise and fix the E string?

Thanks! :)

Re: Piezo not working

Offline TinMachine

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #9 on: October 02, 2016, 12:18:57 PM »
This doesn't look like the original wiring. The piezo/mag/both switch is not right. Generally the Fishman uses the Fishman input jack,  which is not here either.

Re: Piezo not working

Offline zarc95

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2016, 03:34:38 PM »
Could you tell me what I should change?

A

Offline zarc95

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
A
« Reply #11 on: October 03, 2016, 12:32:32 AM »
I had a closer look to the low E string saddle.
It seems to be damaged.
I guess that is why it does not work anymore?
Any chance the background noise could also come from there?


Re: Piezo not working

Offline zarc95

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2016, 12:43:52 PM »
Hi guys,

Any idea?
Do you think the white noise could come from the bump on the E saddle?
Can I consider the preamp is fine as there is no issue when I play with the mag pups, and I know they are routed through the preamp?

Thanks!

Re: Piezo not working

Offline sybersitizen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2659
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2016, 01:53:53 PM »
Do you think the white noise could come from the bump on the E saddle?

I'd be surprised if that's actually causing noise, though you might want to replace it for other reasons.

Quote
Can I consider the preamp is fine as there is no issue when I play with the mag pups, and I know they are routed through the preamp?

Not necessarily. I assume there's some circuitry specifically for the piezos if only to bring their signal level up.
'01 Fly Deluxe|'69 SG Standard|'69 EB-3|Pignose Strat|Savannah SGO-16CE|Glen Burton GE47|Dean Vendetta 7-String|Loog 3-String|Fishman Aura Spectrum|Roland Amplifiers

Re: Piezo not working

Offline zarc95

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #14 on: October 05, 2016, 03:08:05 PM »
Thanks for your answer.
I would anyway need to replace indeed the E string saddle.
I wonder if I should only replace this saddle or the whole bridge.
Maybe I could start with disconnecting this saddle from the bridge to see if the noise disappears?