Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Piezo not working  (Read 3634 times)

Offline sybersitizen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2660
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #15 on: October 05, 2016, 05:21:31 PM »
I wonder if I should only replace this saddle or the whole bridge.

There's no need to replace the whole bridge.

If you can find one saddle of that exact type, you could do that. Otherwise, you could replace all six saddles with a different type. Parker has used several different types over the years. Look here:

http://forums.parkerguitars.com/index.php/topic,10919.msg99415.html#msg99415

Quote
Maybe I could start with disconnecting this saddle from the bridge to see if the noise disappears?

Sounds reasonable, I guess.
'01 Fly Deluxe|'69 SG Standard|'69 EB-3|Pignose Strat|Savannah SGO-16CE|Glen Burton GE47|Dean Vendetta 7-String|Loog 3-String|Fishman Aura Spectrum|Roland Amplifiers

Re: Piezo not working

Offline zarc95

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #16 on: October 06, 2016, 12:39:33 AM »
Many thanks for the link!
I guess mine are the dog bone type?

I will try to remove the damaged saddle and see if the noise disappears

Re: Piezo not working

Offline TinMachine

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #17 on: October 06, 2016, 10:34:22 AM »
Wiguitar on eBay has all the parts

Re: Piezo not working

Offline zarc95

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #18 on: October 07, 2016, 12:51:31 AM »
Many thanks!

Re: Piezo not working

Offline zarc95

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #19 on: October 09, 2016, 11:48:59 AM »
Unfortunately Wiguitar does not have the saddle I am looking for.

I jusst made a new test : I disconnected from the preamp the wire coming from the piezo bridge.
I just unsoldered the hot point, not the ground.
I do not have any white noise anymore on the piezo position (but also no piezo sound of course  ;) ).
The mag pups keep working fine.

As soon as I touch the hot wire manually and connect it back to the preamp the white noise reappears.
I would assume this would mean the issue comes from the piezo saddles and not the preamp.
Am I right?

 

Re: Piezo not working

Offline TinMachine

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #20 on: October 09, 2016, 05:23:07 PM »
He does,  they just aren't listed. Show him a photo.  He has it.

Re: Piezo not working

Offline zarc95

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #21 on: October 10, 2016, 12:57:58 AM »
I sent him a photo, he said he does not have them at the moment.

What do you think about my test?
Can I consider the preamp is just fine?

Re: Piezo not working

Offline TinMachine

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #22 on: October 10, 2016, 09:41:56 AM »
If it's inky one saddle out,  your preamp is just fine. They all attach at the same point. He will have them eventually.  Just keep bugging him once a week.

Re: Piezo not working

Offline zarc95

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #23 on: October 23, 2016, 01:47:27 PM »
Hi all

Just to let you know that my problem came from the low E saddle.
Nonetheless it was not working but that is also it which generated the white noise.

Parker repaired and fully working now :)

Thank you all!

Re: Piezo not working

Offline Big Swifty

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 420
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #24 on: October 23, 2016, 04:30:18 PM »
Cool.

But wait...

Zarc, when you say Parker repaired...is the factory back online?

Last i heard they were closed down, sold their pizza ovens, couldn't get them on the phone.

So...?

Cheers

B.S.
94 Fly Deluxe
2010 DF 524
The system can't get you in your dreams.

Re: Piezo not working

Offline zarc95

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Piezo not working
« Reply #25 on: October 26, 2016, 03:38:36 PM »
Nope, I was just saying I repaired my guitar ;)