Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console  (Read 554 times)

Offline Bizorro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console
« on: November 06, 2017, 03:55:20 AM »
i have a Fly Artist equipped w/ a 13 pin MIDI jack and don't know how to connect it to my interface (a Tascam FW-1884) which has the standard 5 pin MIDI input.
How do i get around this? 
thx

Re: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console

Offline jb63

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
Re: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2017, 12:25:50 PM »
You will need something like the Axon AX50 or the Roland GI-20


https://www.ebay.com/itm/Axon-AX-50-by-Terratec-USB-Guitar-to-MIDI-Interface/192354477530?hash=item2cc93865da:g:EWUAAOSw~HBZ~hTM

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Roland-GI-20/222705499157?hash=item33da483c15:g:WEcAAOSwY~1Z~ODK

These aren't mine or anything, but those prices are about right. Its a lot of gear and I suggest reading up before grabbing one or this other. I like the Roland products because they are still in business, but the axon was a much better unit when it was produced. Not much support on either of them any more, but you can red a lot on the vguitarforums and sift through some posts to learn more.

Here's an old bookmark I found that may help:

https://www.sweetwater.com/forums/showthread.php?54462-13-pin-to-5-pin-midi

Good luck! An artist with a 13-pin output is a pretty awesome sight! I'd love to see that!

Re: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console

Offline Putt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2017, 06:20:33 PM »
It looks like the GI-20 comes with a GK-3 PUP, which Bizorro won't be needing if he already has 13 pin out. I like Roland because, as JB63 said, they are still in business. I've never tried a GI-20 but I'm rather fond of my Parker Bronze with Ghost electronics, which I plug through my GR-55. Good luck.

Re: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console

Offline marcwormjim

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2017, 07:32:50 PM »
To reiterate: 13 pin-outs on guitars are always marketed as “MIDI-out” or “MIDI-capable”, but is in fact just a proprietary jack for outputting hexaphonic pickup voltage. You need an outboard device such as those mentioned that offers a MIDI-thru function; in which the onboard processor converts the hexaphonic voltages into MIDI commands and outputs them to a standard 5-pin MIDI jack you then can run into whichever device.
 

Re: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console

Offline Bizorro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2017, 03:05:43 AM »
hi jb63    thx  for the helpful info!  i really hate to have to buy a converter  esp used w/ prices like that  the 13 pin cable does go into my Roland VG99 and i ran it out the back midi out port into my Tascam FW-1884 interface but having no luck triggering the midi samples in my Sonar Prducer daw specifically the EastWest Guitar MIDI Instruments series

Re: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console

Offline Bizorro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console
« Reply #5 on: November 08, 2017, 03:12:34 AM »
It looks like the GI-20 comes with a GK-3 PUP, which Bizorro won't be needing if he already has 13 pin out. I like Roland because, as JB63 said, they are still in business. I've never tried a GI-20 but I'm rather fond of my Parker Bronze with Ghost electronics, which I plug through my GR-55. Good luck.

yes my Parker has the Ghost Electronix also. i take it the GR-55 has a 13pin input then?  thx!

Re: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console

Offline Bizorro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2017, 03:19:34 AM »
To reiterate: 13 pin-outs on guitars are always marketed as “MIDI-out” or “MIDI-capable”, but is in fact just a proprietary jack for outputting hexaphonic pickup voltage. You need an outboard device such as those mentioned that offers a MIDI-thru function; in which the onboard processor converts the hexaphonic voltages into MIDI commands and outputs them to a standard 5-pin MIDI jack you then can run into whichever device.

thanks!  thats some very helpful knowledge to understand what this is all about.  i do have a Roland VG-99 that i used w/ another guitar that had a GK pup and a 13 pin out.  i was trying to use the Parker into the VG99 and come out the back 5pin midi out jack into my interface but couldn't trigger the samples in my daw

Re: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console

Offline jb63

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
Re: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2017, 12:52:27 PM »
You CAN use the VG99 for triggering samples! Its not the best, but it will do it.
You may have to change some settings. I seem to remember the V-Link having something to do with it, but its been a while.

http://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=13.0

Here is some light reading:

http://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=20479.msg147520#msg147520

http://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=9571.msg68790#msg68790

http://www.vguitarforums.com/smf/index.php?topic=607.msg2582#msg2582

I think the first one will get you what you're looking for, but if you ue the FC300 it seems to be easier.

Re: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console

Offline jb63

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
Re: Problem connecting Fly's MIDI to console
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2017, 12:22:45 PM »