Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Which model do I choose?  (Read 2603 times)

Offline Elnatx

Which model do I choose?
« on: February 14, 2018, 08:17:22 AM »
Hello, first post here!!!!
I'm new to parkers, but I'd like to purchase one, having heard about their great playability.
Looking for used ones in my area, I can find a Nitefly Hss for 850, a near new fly mojo singlecut for 1250, or some fly deluxe and classic starting at about 1600.
I'm a little concerned about the pickups on the fly range, I've read they are not changeable, because are somehow different in dimensions to the usual Humbucker,that not being a problem with the fly mojo nor the nitefly...
I play all styles but extreme metal.
So I could purchase the nitefly in short term, or save more for the mojo singlecut, or save even more and wait more to get a classic or a deluxe.
With playability and versatility in mind, which do you think it would be the best option?
Thanks in advance! 

Re: Which model do I choose?

Offline sybersitizen

« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2018, 10:47:04 AM »
A Fly (Deluxe, Classic, whatever) will be the lightest of those options, and Fly pickups are specialized because of the extremely narrow body thickness. It's possible to swap a few types of pickups in a Fly, but you're generally better off to leave them alone. (The Fly also has the most amazing neck joint you'll ever encounter.)

AFAIK, there's nothing wrong with the playability of a NiteFly (original series) or a Single Cut, both of which easily support pickup modifications ...  but they're heavier and more conventional overall.
'01 Fly Deluxe|'69 SG Standard|'69 EB-3|Pignose Strat|Savannah SGO-16CE|Glen Burton GE47|Dean Vendetta 7-String|Loog 3-String|Fishman Aura Spectrum|Roland Amplifiers

Offline JamieCrain

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2018, 02:53:15 PM »