Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: How new would you go?  (Read 973 times)

Offline Fantasiasoul

How new would you go?
« on: April 09, 2018, 07:30:20 PM »
I have been playing an SSS NiteFly for nearly 20 years. I originally fell in love with the Fly but found my NiteFly in Guitar Center in Dallas for just $500 in mint condition (it still is!), so had to buy it. I still play it and still love it but after so many years I think it's time for me to own and play a Fly. There are lots of discussions here and elsewhere on the net about pre-refined and refined versions and I have watched countless videos to figure out what is out there. I'd like a Fly with a fuller sound and richer lower tones which is why I am looking at the Artist for its spruce body. My question is about how new should I go with my Fly. There are some great examples of Flys from 2012, but is their build quality as good as it used to be back in 2002 or even earlier? I am sure there will be a significant sound difference because the pickups and electronics, but I am asking here specifically about the build quality. Can anyone help? What would you choose?
2005 Fly Classic Cherry Red
1995 Nitefly NF3 (SSS) Black/White

Re: How new would you go?

Offline ParkerPlayer

• - Luke
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2018, 01:09:05 PM »
Hello and welcome to the forum !
I have owned the following Fly models:
Classic, Deluxe, Artist and most recently the Supreme.  All except the Artist are pre-refined.