Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Fly Classic Feedback  (Read 2039 times)

Offline mmelzer

Fly Classic Feedback
« on: May 01, 2006, 03:42:10 PM »
I know that "A camel is a horse designed by committee", but since you have a forum requesting feedback, I guess I'll give a little.[:D]

I'm new to Parkers, having gotten a Fly Classic about a week ago.  A few years back, I briefly owned a P-38 as well.

Now that I've had the chance to bond with the guitar some, I thought I'd offer a couple of thoughts:

- It would seem to me to be a no-brainer to use Schaller Straplock compatible strap buttons.  You don't have to include the whole straplock system, but if the buttons were there, people could easily use them without fear of putting a screw through the front of a $2k+ guitar.  I doubt there would be any difference at all in production cost.

- The upper fret access is unreal!  Never before have I had an instrument where playing above about the 17th fret was reasonably done.  Superb design!

- One area where the Fly trem system doesn't seem to get enough recognition is with it's ergonomics.  It's the most comfortable bridge system, trem or fixed!  There aren't any sharp edges like a TOM or vintage Strat trems, and the area you rest your hand against is very smooth and comfortable!

- Why was the P-38 cancelled?  I greatly prefer that NiteFly config much better than the current P series options.

- Personally, I have small hands and would prefer a less wide neck.  I know that for the shredders and bigger people the wide-flat is the in thing, but I would like to see one model of the Fly with a narrower neck (as an option maybe?).  Although I'm getting more used to it, with small hands it's hard to do the Hendrix-thumb-over-the-top-of-the-fretboard thing.

- I am partially disabled with a bad back.  The weight was a MAJOR factor in my purchase.  Great job on keeping the weight low!