Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: motivate me to buy a new amp... PLAESE!!  (Read 4374 times)

Offline StickyThumb

motivate me to buy a new amp... PLAESE!!
« on: June 30, 2006, 02:28:26 AM »
so, i've been playing guitar for a couple of years now and up to very recently didnt feel any need to upgrade my 15watt practice amp to anything bigger or with better tone or whatever. But then i was advised by my teacher to invest into a new amp since, according to him, i was at the stage of learning where i could play pretty much anything and now needed to just work on my speed in order to get shreddin, so after getting a new guitar just a month ago, now i should be investing into the amp. I gathered some money and went to the music store to look for that perfect amp (i was planing to spend abou $500 + trade in my old amp). I already kinda set my mind for a fender amp since it has that deep, warm kind of sound, but after trying out a number of completly different amps (anything from solid state 30 watt to about 30watt tube) i realize that ALL amps make a huge deal of noise when no sound is present... bummer... my old amp doesnt do that (probably just isnt powerful enough), but then whatahell do i need a bigger amp for if i dont gig, dont play in a band (just jamm every now and then, but i use a studio amp then)and i also really hate playing loud since it just drives me freakin nuts... do i really need to invest 500 into a new amp? what difference is it really gonna make? (i was looking at Traynor DG65R for its warm sound) but since i didnt have my tiny amp with me i couldnt really tell much difference besides added buzzing. Are bigger, more powerful amps ment to be louder and thats it? or is more power actually gonna *fill* the room more? why would i be investing into a bigger amp if i dont gig?? also, why do all powerfull amps make so much noise??? it really pisses me off you know... anyway, any help would be really ap