Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Wood Choices...  (Read 26630 times)

Offline Lwinn171

Wood Choices...
« on: August 13, 2006, 12:46:34 AM »
I just read the bit on the Parker website about wood (in the factory tour section). I love it! As a woodworker, I am constantly digging through piles of rough lumber, looking for the "diamonds in the rough". My ability to choose great pieces of rough lumber caught the eye of my main supplier, now they set aside (or point out) cool pieces when I show up. Great guys, at the Hardwood Store of NC.(Sorry for the plug, but they by God deserve it).
 I've been thinking though...why not a cherry Fly? Why not a walnut Fly? Zebrawood? (Okay, that would cost a bit more). But seriously, there are a lot of woods to choose from. It seems to me that one of the things inherent to Parkers is a fairly bright tone. The stainless steel frets and carbon-fiber exoskeleton seem to make for an over-all emphasis on the over-tones, generally. Cherry and walnut would darken the sound a bit, mellowing it, as does the mahogany models. It would also give us some more interesting Fly finishes to look at. Cherry and walnut often have stunning figure (If you get the good stuff, with cherry...more hit and miss with walnut). The Curly cherry can be as wild as maple can get, usually more quilted than tiger-stripe. Walnut with curl is incredible, but usually limited to small areas.
  Anyway, show me the wood! Domestically grown hardwoods are available at reasonable prices (roughly the same or less than mahogany and maple-grades not withstanding). Limited editions? Custom oders? Any one else like to see a Figured cherry fly?

Lawrence Winn
"42.7 percent of all statistics are made-up on the spot."
2001 Fly Classic, Green
Larivee Parlour Guitar
Several inferior others
Mesa Boogie MK IV
Marshall 2-12 cab

Lawrence Winn
2001 Classic, 98 Deluxe
various amps, various toys

Wood Choices...

Offline loumt123