Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Loop stations  (Read 4657 times)

Offline portnoy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1560
    • http://www.facebook.com/pages/Huntingdon-United-Kingdom/MusicStreetUK/193947947906?ref=ts
Loop stations
« Reply #15 on: April 25, 2008, 05:39:20 PM »
i've been looking for a loop pedal, I need to test a few out, i used to use a function on a GT8 that would Hold anything i'd play and loop it back, It was seriously good when delay effects were used also. I recorded it ages ago and added it to my Improvising guitarists page last night. I'm hoping a loop pedal can give us the same sort of thing the GT8 gave us

Loop stations

Offline kurrykid

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 496
Loop stations
« Reply #16 on: April 25, 2008, 10:39:26 PM »
Have you seen the new one from Line 6?  I haven't evaluated it yet...it looks cool though! [:)]

http://www.line6.com/jm4looper/

Dave

PM20, QB
Black P6E
"Calvary Fly" Custom Mojo Single Cut
Dave

TTB DF
"Calvary Fly" Custom Mojo Single Cut
PM20, QB
Black P6E

Loop stations

Offline rld25

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
Loop stations
« Reply #17 on: April 25, 2008, 11:13:24 PM »
Wow that looks sweet! Wonder what street price will be?'93 Fly Deluxe,'05 Fly Mojo Flame S/C, '06 Southern Nitefly
Lane

Loop stations

jwrooker

  • Guest
Loop stations
« Reply #18 on: April 26, 2008, 07:22:56 AM »
24 minutes of recording time?  What are these guys thinking?  My JamMan allows me 6 hours of loops.  It allows me to work on all kinds of ideas without fear of running out of memry.


John

Parker Online Chat:  http://www.jwrooker.com/mychat/
Buy/Sell/Trade your used gear at: http://www.jwrooker.com/garagesale/

Loop stations

Offline 908ssp

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6365
Loop stations
« Reply #19 on: April 26, 2008, 09:19:17 AM »
quote:
Originally posted by jwrooker

24 minutes of recording time?  What are these guys thinking?  My JamMan allows me 6 hours of loops.  It allows me to work on all kinds of ideas without fear of running out of memry.


That could be a misleading spec. The spec might be with the internal memory it has external memory capability too. Your JamMan did not have 6 hours without the extra memory, correct?  I don't know thou just seems odd.
[^]

Alex

Alex

[IMG]http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r245/908ssp/ThumbNails/_1010802.jpg[/IMG

Loop stations

Offline mojotron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 716
    • http://www.mojotronics.com
Loop stations
« Reply #20 on: April 26, 2008, 09:48:53 AM »
quote:
Originally posted by 908ssp

quote:
Originally posted by jwrooker

24 minutes of recording time?  What are these guys thinking?  My JamMan allows me 6 hours of loops.  It allows me to work on all kinds of ideas without fear of running out of memry.


That could be a misleading spec. The spec might be with the internal memory it has external memory capability too. Your JamMan did not have 6 hours without the extra memory, correct?  I don't know thou just seems odd.
[^]



Yep - I run out of memory in my JamMan all the time once I get about 30 loops in it. It's not too much of a restriction, but I generally make a loop, save it, copy it to a different location, refine that loop, copy that to a new location..... So I run out of memory when I want to save previous generations of loops.
 

Loop stations

jwrooker

  • Guest
Loop stations
« Reply #21 on: April 26, 2008, 10:06:30 AM »
quote:
Originally posted by mojotron

Yep - I run out of memory in my JamMan all the time once I get about 30 loops in it. It's not too much of a restriction, but I generally make a loop, save it, copy it to a different location, refine that loop, copy that to a new location..... So I run out of memory when I want to save previous generations of loops.



But that JamMan just uses a standard Compact Flash memory card and 2 gig ones are pretty cheap these days.  I bought the 2 gig card with the Jam Man.  It was teh biggest reason I went for it because at the time I was looking, none of the Boss units had this feature.


John

Parker Online Chat:  http://www.jwrooker.com/mychat/
Buy/Sell/Trade your used gear at: http://www.jwrooker.com/garagesale/

Loop stations

Offline laughinglarry

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1060
    • http://www.myspace.com/larrysmithmusic
Loop stations
« Reply #22 on: April 26, 2008, 10:46:14 AM »
From the "Specifications" page:

• Save up to 100 CD-quality recorded jams (totaling 24 minutes of recording time) internally

• SD card slot for importing and exporting loops and recordings. (Supports up to 2-GB SD card for storage of up to 6.5 hours of recorded jams. SD card sold separately)

Of course, this one offers the accompaniment, amp modeling and effects too... [;)][:0][:p][8D]

Larry

2000 Fly Deluxe Single 2, '97 Fly Deluxe (with GK-2A), '07 Steinberger GM-7TA, '04 Steinberger GLB-2S, '89 Strat Plus, '92 Les Paul Custom, Ibanez Silver Series (Strat), Epiphone Dot, '65 Mustang, Yamaha BB3000AF, Peavey Foundation, Hamer Cruisebass
http://www.myspace.com/larrysmithmusic
www.myspace.com/karmagenerator

Loop stations

Offline mojotron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 716
    • http://www.mojotronics.com
Loop stations
« Reply #23 on: April 26, 2008, 04:13:37 PM »
quote:
Originally posted by jwrooker

quote:
Originally posted by mojotron

Yep - I run out of memory in my JamMan all the time once I get about 30 loops in it. It's not too much of a restriction, but I generally make a loop, save it, copy it to a different location, refine that loop, copy that to a new location..... So I run out of memory when I want to save previous generations of loops.



But that JamMan just uses a standard Compact Flash memory card and 2 gig ones are pretty cheap these days.  I bought the 2 gig card with the Jam Man.  It was teh biggest reason I went for it because at the time I was looking, none of the Boss units had this feature.

...


Right - I have not upgraded the memory - I will someday - for now, I use the JamMan a lot and there is plenty of memory for me without the upgrade. I just can't go nuts with saving loops, if I thought it was really a restriction I would upgrade.
 

Loop stations

Offline rld25

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
Loop stations
« Reply #24 on: April 26, 2008, 11:17:47 PM »
I wish I had 6 hours of memory. I sometimes can't remember where I put someting 1 hour ago. [:D]'93 Fly Deluxe,'05 Fly Mojo Flame S/C, '06 Southern Nitefly
Lane

Loop stations

Offline Bill

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4839
  • What is this ?
Loop stations
« Reply #25 on: April 26, 2008, 11:34:57 PM »
[:D][:D]

Yeah, my brain could use one of those cards !

A few Flys in my soup
A few Flys in my soup

Loop stations

Offline mountaindewaddict

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1894
Loop stations
« Reply #26 on: April 27, 2008, 01:35:20 PM »
quote:
Originally posted by Bill

[:D][:D]
Yeah, my brain could use one of those cards !


Do you want to take bets on how much longer we have to wait before Apple or Microsoft comes out with device that works that way?

Casey

Gear:
Parker P-44, Digitech GNX4, other stuff...
"Remember, if at first you don't succeed, you're doing it wrong."
God Bless!
Casey

Gear: Parker Fly Deluxe, Parker PDF60, Way Huge, Digitech / Hardwire, Line 6, Source Audio,T-Rex, and TC Electronic Pedals, Egnater amps, other stuff... God Bless!

Loop stations

Offline Bill

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4839
  • What is this ?
Loop stations
« Reply #27 on: April 27, 2008, 02:46:27 PM »
Well then could I borrow Bill Gates's flash card ?  [:D]

Or maybe even Warren Buffet's.

This is getting all matrixy.

A few Flys in my soup
A few Flys in my soup

Loop stations

jwrooker

  • Guest
Loop stations
« Reply #28 on: April 27, 2008, 05:52:17 PM »
quote:
Originally posted by mountaindewaddict
[
Do you want to take bets on how much longer we have to wait before Apple or Microsoft comes out with device that works that way?




The Microsoft one kept developing Alzheimer's...


John

Parker Online Chat:  http://www.jwrooker.com/mychat/
Buy/Sell/Trade your used gear at: http://www.jwrooker.com/garagesale/

Loop stations

Offline mountaindewaddict

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1894
Loop stations
« Reply #29 on: April 28, 2008, 09:22:27 AM »
quote:
Originally posted by jwrooker
The Microsoft one kept developing Alzheimer's...


LOL!  Yeah, but the Apple one cost too much. [:)] [:p]  That, and it just bugs me when a memory card is both smarter and more smug than me. [:D]

Casey

Gear:
Parker P-44, Digitech GNX4, other stuff...
"Remember, if at first you don't succeed, you're doing it wrong."
God Bless!
Casey

Gear: Parker Fly Deluxe, Parker PDF60, Way Huge, Digitech / Hardwire, Line 6, Source Audio,T-Rex, and TC Electronic Pedals, Egnater amps, other stuff... God Bless!