Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Dig the Pop Top Ten For This Week  (Read 3937 times)

Offline prjacobs

Dig the Pop Top Ten For This Week
« Reply #15 on: September 29, 2007, 04:11:08 PM »
When Elvis did over 20 takes of Hound Dog it was done in a few hours.  When Mutt Lange spent a week working on the snare drum sound for the Cars "You Might Think," it's a far different animal. (This is not an exaggeration, it took a week!) My comments are in no way meant to simplify the recording process.  Exactly the opposite.  I've been a professional composer/arranger/producer for almost 40 years, I know how hard it is.  Arranging for real instruments in mono or stereo requires much more skill than mulitrack recording with samples, vocalign, beat detective, pitch shift etc.  Strandwolf, I was born in 1950, so I'm basically your age. If your serious about being always willing to learn, keep listening. Good songs are still being written.  Forget about CDs, that part of the business is over.  Television is now breaking new bands.  Even commercials showcase new music.  Go on to Myspace, look for your favorite artist and see what they listen to.
Best,
Paul
« Last Edit: September 29, 2007, 04:11:32 PM by prjacobs »

Offline Strandwolf

• http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=577969013
« Reply #16 on: September 29, 2007, 04:34:37 PM »
Paul,

Good idea. While I'm open to new sounds I will admit to being locked into what I've already discovered that I enjoy.

My musical interests are quite narrow, and I suppose fall mainly in the genres labeled deep soul, rockabilly, roots rock, rhythm 'n blues, blues....