Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Rhythmic Mystic  (Read 2098 times)

Offline Bill

• What is this ?
Rhythmic Mystic
« on: March 26, 2008, 07:06:50 PM »
Its kind of strange but interesting. It is John McLaughlin   after all.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yK7hsvdjHwg

A few Flys in my soup
« Last Edit: March 26, 2008, 08:11:17 PM by Bill »
A few Flys in my soup

Rhythmic Mystic

Offline danjazzny

Rhythmic Mystic
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2008, 10:56:11 PM »
It's interesting but way over my head. Too much for my little brain to handle. [xx(][:I]

'05 Mojo++'95 Deluxe++'98 Classic++'97 Artist ++'99 Simonized Artist++Flextone3++SpiderValve 212
'99 Simonized Artist 4lbs13oz; '97 TransRed Artist 4lbs9oz; '00 TransCherry Classic w/SD's 5lbs3oz; Line 6 Vetta II

Rhythmic Mystic

Offline prjacobs

Rhythmic Mystic
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2008, 06:16:25 PM »
When I studied ear training as a little kid, there were certain parts of familiar songs that the "tonally challenged" would be given to learn intervals.  For example, the first 2 notes of "My Bonnie Lies Over The Ocean," are a major 6th.  Since people knew the songs, it was a way of associating the correct intervals with what you heard.  It seems to me that these words function the same way as rhythmic ear trainers.  I guess that one would become so familiar with the cadence of those words, that you'd develop a real rhythmic affinity.  I guess if you're really interested in exploring that direction it would be cool.  I believe it was Carl Seashore who wrote about the different parts of music that attract children and adults.  Some, like John, (at least in what we see here), identify with rhythm, some with melody, some with harmony, some with tempo, some with different tonal colors.... And some play drums.... Just kidding....