Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Left "hand" technique  (Read 5577 times)

Offline Yoyo

Left "hand" technique
« Reply #15 on: March 22, 2008, 08:19:54 AM »
It could be argued that the technique that prjacobs is demonstrating here should have been learned right at the start our guitar journey, but we didn't did we. I don't think, ultimately, it matters when you learn something. I'm certainly going to look into his advice and take what I can from it.
The only thing that exists is this moment now.

Left "hand" technique

Offline prjacobs

Left "hand" technique
« Reply #16 on: March 22, 2008, 08:22:04 AM »
Yoyo, I don't know about you, but I was self taught on the guitar.  By the time I took any guitar lessons, they were jazz lessons and I was already a well known rock player. This technique was from my classical piano lessons. The use of the forearms to move the hand position away from the body and on piano, using the forearms and tucking the elbows into the body when bringing the hands back are absolutely a necessity.    On guitar, I think that the advantages will be apparent most quickly on big position changes.  The thing to imagine, from the left hand's point of view, is that your fingers just keep playing as if the guitar neck was changing position under them.