Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: alternate picking speed problem  (Read 5960 times)

Offline bradictron

alternate picking speed problem
« on: August 10, 2009, 09:39:10 PM »
I've been playing for about 7 years now and it seems like for at least 2 years my picking speed has been at a standstill. I can't pick faster than 160 bpm 16th notes for more than one measure. I use mostly my wrist to pick, practice at least an hour every day and can't seem to figure out the problem. Any feedback or suggestions? thanks!

Offline prjacobs

« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2009, 10:32:40 PM »
Does your pinky touch the guitar when you pick?  If so, you might try picking without any contact with the guitar.  Or reverse my suggestion if your picking hand doesn't touch the guitar:)
Good luck.  And remember, content is much more important than speed....

Offline Titus Pullo

« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2009, 01:01:50 PM »
Using whatever the exercise is to measure your speed, do it VERY slowly.

I mean slowly. S L O W L Y. Take your speed down to virtually nothing. No tempo; just observe yourself as you pick the notes.

Listen to your body for any tension as you VERY gradually ratchet up the speed with or without a click.

At whatever point you notice tension (or the exercise breaking down) isolate the tension/breakdown point. Where is the tension emanating from?

If you find it, then you have to break the muscle memory (the point at which you introduce tension) that you've built into your technique and eliminate it by playing the exercises V E R Y slowly. Do you have a teacher?

You can also practice the same exercise at a lower tempo using 16th note triplets to help expand how you conceptualize the pattern.

--
"If you subscribe to the Stew-Mac style you have to have a template to blow your nose." - Ken Parker

--
"If you subscribe to the Stew-Mac style you have to have a template to blow your nose." - Ken Parker

Offline prjacobs